THE GOLDENBOY SAGA

Rants, Random News, and Funny Clips

Fernando Nogari- Music

with 2 comments

This guy does have a style. It reminds me of a 70s era music video and I feel that period is appropriate for this type of style. You can find more of his videos here. Below you can find an interview done by The Lip Mag.

Nogari- Well I’m trying to finish my design degree at the moment.  I always seem to be too busy working or traveling, or both.  However I am very glad and excited to inform you that yesterday I applied for my final project!   How nice is that!?

I know you have dabbled in both photography and film, which media do you prefer?  And do you prefer digital work or analog?

Nogari- Hmm this is a tricky question.  As of right now I couldn’t say I have a favorite media, I’ve been flirting with a lot of different ones lately.  I’ve had my moments though.  My photography is completely unpretentious, and it’s fun to use it that way.  I just go out there and shoot whatever comes to my mind. My videos however, I take them more seriously.  I like to bring an idea behind them so it takes a little more thinking.  I don’t value one better than the other though, I like them both.

The imagery in your videos are all very similar to one another, can you tell me what theme or color pallet it is that you go for?

Nogari- I try to be as honest as possible in my videos.   They all convey a feeling of dreaming.  You don’t know exactly what is real or not, but there is this idea of something happening.  I like this subconscious stage that they fit into.  You know when you’re almost sleeping and all these crazy things comes to your mind and you end up going to a completely distant place?  I try to take something from that world. Make it artsy.

The actors in your films, are they your friends?

Nogari- Most of them are friends, none of them are actors, some of them are models.  I find it very hard to work with someone I don’t know very well, so always, before I shoot, I try to be as close as possible to my subject.  I get to know them better, drink a beer, do a little dance, make a little love or something.

Is filming a hobby, would you like to eventually get paid?

Nogari- It’s a hobby, definitely, but I would love to get paid to do it.

Do you think hobbies turned into careers ruin the love and passion in it?

Nogari- It depends, I believe that if you really like what you do and focus on bringing in your best effort, that you will always get great results either working on stuff as hobbies or under commissioned jobs.  As everything in life, when you really mean what you’re doing you can’t go wrong, honestly.

Any publications, magazines, zines, etc…I should know about?

Nogari- I had some of my photos featured in the last issue of Faq Magazine, which is an amazing project from Juliana Mundim, a friend of mine.  I’m also going to have some of my photos printed in the next issue of Gudi Magazine.  And if I can recommend a publication, which I am not featured in (yet), it’s this great interview mag called Wooooo.  I have also recently directed and did the art direction for this music video a few months ago.  It was for a Brazilian band called Copacabana Club.  I think they are going to be really big someday.  Kanye West posted this clip in his personal blog as soon as we released it.  No kiddin!  KANYE WEST!  Haha we make so many jokes about this.

Where do you live?  Work?  What do you spend your time doing?

Nogari- I live in Curitiba, Brazil.  I work in a collective studio called Banzai Studio.  I spend most of my time making plans.  I have just returned home from Berlin.  I bought this amazing foldable bicycle and dyed my hair.  Okay, I didn’t really dye may hair, but I want to come off more edgy to the readers ya’ know?  All together, it has been really nice to come back after a while.  Curitiba is this HUGE countryside where people dress weird and everywhere you go you hear ghetto-cyber-techno music.  Everybody here believes that we live in the most well urbanized city in the whole universe, really, and I can barely ride my bike.  Anyways, you should Google Curitiba and see for yourself.  So, as of right now, I’m working on some personal projects and I’m in the expansion of my collective.  I think that’s all for now, but I’ll keep you updated.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Written by Brando P

October 20, 2009 at 8:24 AM

Posted in Music

Tagged with , , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hey
    thanks for your post 🙂
    you sure have some great stuff here.
    best,
    fernando.

    Fernando Nogari

    October 22, 2009 at 8:06 AM

    • Thanks man! Kudos to you too.

      thegoldenboysaga

      October 22, 2009 at 8:37 AM


Leave a Reply

